Makeup: Saturday night with the in-laws

My (future) parents in-law invited me out for dinner and a musical last Saturday night. My gorgeous partner’s been on night-shift this past fortnight, 6 days a week, and it’s driving me craaaazy! As my alternative was to watch Ex on the Beach all night and eat a tin of sardines (yes, I’m that lazy!), a night out sounded just perfect.

What is evening, in-law appropriate makeup? In my case, I haven’t yet sealed the deal with their son, so they’re not yet legally required to love me unconditionally yet (that’s what being a parent means, right?). You never want to look like you’re about to hit the clubs for a loose night, yet you also don’t want to look plain and dowdy. What’s the line here you need to tread?

Mind you, my (future) mother in-law has caught me out before in quite a state when her son & I first started dating and I was still aloud in her house, so maybe there’s a fairly thick line of what’s acceptable and what’s not!

And of course, all my reviews come backed up with my authenticity guarantee and honest desire to provide easy to follow, believable information and results.

Here’s what I came up with:

Starting with a freshly cleaned face:

And a little while later…

(Don’t judge me by my lack of hair-doing ability. Despite brushing it, it never EVER looks tidy. Hair just isn’t my thing!)

What I used:

For the foundation:

I love Ere Perez foundation, as you may already know. My acne has settled down a bit so a little concealer, of the same brand, does the trick.

  • Ere Perez Oat Milk Foundation in Light-Medium (need help choosing a shade that’s right for you? See my guide here)
  • Ere Perez Amazing Arnica Concealer in Light

I used a little highlighter on my cheek bones, inner eye and just under my brow bone to keep my skin looking fresh and healthy.

To keep liquid foundation in place, you must apply a powder over the top. I wanted a heavier coverage so used a powder foundation.

  • Ere Perez Highlighter in Versatile Vanilla 
  • Eco Minerals loose mineral powder in Lightest Beige

add a little colour:

Bronzer was applied along the check bones, forehead and along the nose – wherever the sun might naturally kiss. A smudge of cheek tint was rubbed onto the apples of my cheeks.

  • bareMinerals bronzer in The Skinny Dip
  • Ere Perez Cheek & Lip Balm in Harmless 

On the lips:

I’m not normally a lipstick person, but I am slowly weaning my way into them. I’m starting with staining, so just lightly apply a lip colour and blot into place. It lasts for hours and looks a little less intense than full colour.

  • Zuii Organic Lipstick in Cashmere

And finally, make those eyes sing!

Normally I’m all about the eyes and will go heavy on them and leave the lips nude. I’m mixing things up a little and using the shadow to create a softer line on the upper lid and a little dimension on the lid. I have hooded eyelids so I need to keep the colour closer to the outer edges. 

  • 100% Pure Eye Shadow in Pewter
  • 100% Pure Ultra Lengthening Mascara in Black Tea

PS. It’s really hard to take a photo of yourself with eyes closed! 

What products do you love and recommend for evenings?

How do you walk the line between marry-my-son lady and lady-of-the-night?

I would love to hear your tips!

One thought on “Makeup: Saturday night with the in-laws

Leave a comment